Welcome Leadership Regional VLA Calendar Councils Activities Resources World Jam

Senior Scouting History


Sea Scouting, the first specific older boy program began.


Explorer Scouts was approved by BSA.  BSA had been experimenting with a "land-based" version of Sea Scouts since the early 1920's.


BSA established its Senior Scouting section, for young men 15 through 17.


Air Scouts were established.  The top award was Ace.


Explorer ScoutExplorer Scout Posts were established as separate units from Boy Scout Troops.  The top award was Ranger and the new uniform was Forest Green.


Compass, Anchor, Wings - CAWAll the Senior Scout Programs changes their names to include Explorers:  Sea Explorers, Air Explorers and Explorers.  The new top award for Air Explorers and Explorers was changed to the Silver Award.  Sea Explorers kept Quartermaster as their top award.  The age for all Explorers was dropped to 14.


ExploringThe Silver Award was dropped from Explorers but remained in Air Explorers.  All programs changed from Explorers to Exploring.


Air Exploring was discontinued.


Young women were permitted to become non registered associate Exploring Post members.


Young women became eligible for full membership in Exploring and age was increased from 17 to 20.


ExploringCareer Awareness Exploring began.  The new top award for the Exploring program was the Explorer Achievement Award.


Exploring - new E in 1990The Explorer Achievement Award change names to the Exploring Growth Opportunity in Leadership Development (G.O.L.D.) Award.  The requirements for these old awards are very similar to the Venturing Gold Award requirements.


VenturingThe new Venturing program was introduced.  Venturing brought back the names of previous top awards:  the Silver Award and the Ranger Award.  Career Awareness Exploring was moved to a subsidiary of the BSA called Learning for Life.

BSA National Sites

Other Venturing Resources

Venturing Training

BSA High Adventure Bases

Special Awards & Recognition

Other Resources